Posted on

Me and the ‘Living Job’

I have just been seconded to work in Organisational Development until the end of the year. Yay! However, apparently there have been some disgruntled mutterings about me securing this opportunity… So, what makes me a good fit for this role?
While I have little, formal, theoretical knowledge of OD, I feel 100% confident in my ability to integrate my knowledge and experiences in new settings. With 11 years experience in this organisation, I have demonstrated this ability through various roles and projects, achieving change and improvements in everything I’ve turned my hand to. Further to this, and something that has never been explicitly asked for or valued, I am absolutely committed to helping us become the best we can be in our field and because of this, I feel strongly about wanting my role to have strategic impact as we embark upon a huge transformation agenda.
Using Rogers’ Innovation Adoption Curve as a reference, I sit somewhere between being an Innovator and an Early Adopter… I deem myself “easily excited”, but there’s more to it than that. My Innovator characteristics include an ability to cope with ‘vague’; uncertainty excites me because I see possibilities and opportunities to create, adapt and try new things. In addition, I’m venturesome. I’m willing to take risks and give ‘out-of-the-ordinary’ a go. From an Early Adopter Perspective, I am well-connected across the organisation and have some ability to leverage relationships to bring others on board. Just as I’m keen to try new things, I am equally determined to provide sound, valuable and honest feedback on whether ‘new’ is also ‘improved’, or not.
With that in check, I feel completely empowered by this notion of the ‘Living Job’.
Will I be operating from a strengths base? Yes!
Is this an opportunity to co-create and evolve practice? Yes!
Is my portfolio of work clear and well-defined? Yes!
So here’s my story… as it unfolds.

Leave a comment