Posted on

Deep in the thick of it

Week one in the Living Job has been amazing!
Being at the heart of where this idea is growing legs has really helped contextualise what’s involved, and required, to bring this concept to life. It’s a huge shift in how we view work, employment and talent – and I get the impression that this change scares some people.
What it looked like for me:
I was introduced to the landscape by existing team members. They filled me in on what’s on the radar, then our manager asked us to pull together a 90-day plan. Talk about deep end! However, it turned out it was this structure that allowed me to make sense of what we had planned, identify some priorities, opportunities for quick wins and create a long-term vision for where we’re heading. That was Day 1!
To be fair, the only reason this was possible was because of the comprehensive work that had been done already. My strength as aResource Investigator allowed me to use the great ideas already curated and bring some order and structure to our team plan. This process was also invaluable in bringing me up to speed in a very short amount of time.
From this plan we were able to identify key pieces of work to be led by each person and the rest of the week was spent on bringing my pieces to life! I felt productive, valued and valuable from the outset. Further,my organizational knowledge and networks have really smoothed the way to making progress quickly. It’s been an amazing experience so far!
So, what does this mean for the Living Job in the big scheme of things?
If we want an agile workforce, we need to ensure that pieces of work are shaped up well prior to bringing others in – unless the role is to actually undertake that shaping up.
Appointments to portfolios of work need to be cognisant of overall team requirements and functioning. My strengths add to the teams ability to get our stuff done. The value of this can not be under estimated. High performing teams need to be comprised of folks that complement each other to achieve positive outcomes quickly.
I’m loving my new team and our work environment. I’ve been missing the autonomy to progress ideas and initiatives quickly, though I recognize that as we roll out this idea further, we will need to ensure that all teams are supported to maximize other opportunity of the living job, by reducing fears that result in resistance to change.

Leave a comment